The Meat Racket

The Meat Racket

The Secret Takeover of America's Food Business

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
In The Meat Racket, investigative reporter Christopher Leonard delivers the first-ever account of how a handful of companies have seized the nation's meat supply. He shows how they built a system that puts farmers on the edge of bankruptcy, charges high prices to consumers, and returns the industry to the shape it had in the 1900s before the meat monopolists were broken up. At the dawn of the 21st century, the greatest capitalist country in the world has an oligarchy controlling much of the food we eat and a high-tech sharecropping system to make that possible.
Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, 2014
Edition: 1st Simon & Schuster hardcover ed
Description: 370 p. ; 24 cm
ISBN: 9781451645811
1451645813
Branch Call Number: 338.76365 Leo

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
j2gram
Sep 10, 2015

Excellent muckraking in the vein of Sinclair Lewis and Robert Sherrill. About the time you think Tyson can't get any more devious or underhanded, he does. Fascinating and infuriating. Five stars.

r
rdw39
Sep 03, 2014

I found this book to be excellent in exposing TYSON & other similar poultry & meat companies regarding their monopoly in this industry. It seemed like Don Tyson's entire life was devoted to being the giant in this business & he did not care what he was doing to small farmers. He took pride in being the dictator to small operations concerning payment for poultry, wages & putting them out of their livelihood. Unfortunately, it seems that his vision is still being carried forth by the current management & their narcissism & greed are their primary focus.

Mark_Daly May 23, 2014

Leonard concisely sketches the brutal economic forces that leave chicken and hog farmers near bankruptcy and cattle ranchers struggling while Tyson Foods reaps record profits. There's a quiet outrage fueling this book, but Leonard is a reporter, not a polemicist. He allows the discomforting facts to speak for themselves.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top