The Language of the Dead

The Language of the Dead

A World War II Mystery

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
When the rural hamlet of Hampshire is plagued by a series of brutal murders as German bombers launch a relentless attack on England during World War II, Detective Inspector Thomas Lamb races against time to solve these crimes that are seemingly linked to the occult.
Publisher: New York :, Pegasus Crime,, 2015
Edition: First Pegasus Books cloth edition
Description: 277 pages ; 24 cm
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9781605986968
1605986968
Branch Call Number: Kell
Additional Contributors: Kelly, Stephen (Mystery writer)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
ready2read
Feb 24, 2017

This whodunnit is perfect for fans of "FOYLES WAR" or Maureen Jennings's TOM TYLER series. A reminder - as the German bombs rained down on England - that evil of a domestic nature still existed. This novel is followed by THE WAGES OF DESIRE (2016)

a
amatrixlibrorum
Jan 18, 2016

While I appreciated the historical detail, the mystery itself was not as strong as I would have liked. Lamb was good and his fellow policemen were well-drawn and much more realistic than the usual stock characters. I'd say that this was probably too realistic to be a cozy mystery, but the historical aspect softened its realism a good bit.

t
tardy1
Oct 03, 2015

I agree , trying too hard to be British but all in all an enjoyable if not memorable read. Author has potential.

n
neiltoy
Oct 02, 2015

If you are a fan of the British TV series Foyle's War you will really
enjoy this book. This American author was able to write an atomspheric compelling story
of the early days of WWII in
south England. I thought the character development well done. I hope Stephen Kelly turns this into a series.
A great read!

r
rgally
Jul 26, 2015

Just couldn't get through it. Before I knew it was written by a US author I was thinking it seemed to be trying too hard to be British. Awkward and in need of an edit for style

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top