A Deceptive Devotion : A Lane Winslow Mystery

A Deceptive Devotion : A Lane Winslow Mystery

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
""Wedding bells, a grisly murder, and a defecting Russian spy bring drama to King's Cove in the newest Lane Winslow mystery, a series that the Globe and Mail calls "terrific." A wedding is on the horizon for Lane Winslow and Inspector Darling. As one of the few Russian speakers in her community, Lane is obliged to act as translator and hostess for Countess Orlova, an elderly Russian woman who has tracked her missing brother to the Nelson area. Nelson PD investigates, but then the murder of a lone hunter in the hills above King's Cove takes top priority. Darling works the case with a Constable Oxley--a newcomer to the area, assigned in Constable Ames' temporary absence--and a British agent contacts Lane to warn her to be on the lookout for a fleeing Russian defector. Bound by the Wartime Secrets Act, Lane is conflicted about keeping the information from Darling, especially when it begins to put a strain on their relationship. Fans of Maisie Dobbs and the Kopp Sisters will delight in this rousing adventure of intrigue and espionage."--
Publisher: [Victoria, British Columbia] :, Touchwood Editions,, [2019]
Description: 1 online resource
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9781771513012


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Jul 23, 2020

Like this series. Worth a reread

Jun 26, 2020

The stories in this series just keep getting better. This mystery novel was tops - a page turner with cliff hanging chapters. The story ties together a murder of a local brutal husband who knows about his unfaithful wife - that's Detective Inspector Darling's storyline - with Russian spies tracking down a Russian defector on Canadian soil who happens to be looking for sanctuary with Lane Winslow, the DI's love interest - that is the storyline for Lane Winslow. Amidst this mounting intrigue is the growing romance of the two main characters who finally make it to the alter at the end of the story. I have enjoyed each book in this series. This book was number 6 in the series.

Jul 31, 2019

This series just keeps getting better. I love the time period, right after WWll. The books are not a quick read - however once I start, it's hard to put down! The characters are complex and hard to forget.

This one and #4 in the series are my favourites.

May 04, 2019

This is a series I've come to enjoy since the debut in 2015. With six books published in 4 years, the author knows how to accommodate her readers - I always get a little giddy when I see a new title being published. The author is Canadian and the books are set in post WW2 British Columbia. The protagonist is a British young lady who has chosen to settle in a small village, after the war, to distance herself from the craziness and confusion she experienced as an allied spy during the war. Does she succeed? - not really, hence the books.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top