Opium Season

Opium Season

A Year on the Afghan Frontier

Book - 2007
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
An aid volunteer documents his year working for an American-funded program in Afghanistan, as the group is caught between helping the poppy farmers who are struggling to make a living and fighting off the Taliban forces threatening to occupy the area.

NBN
A young American working on the brutal fault line where the war on terror meets the war on drugs. Joel Hafvenstein signed up for a year in Afghanistan in the heart of the country's opium trade, running an American-funded aid program to help thousands of opium poppy farmers make a legal living, and to win hearts and minds away from the former Taliban government. The author was soon caught up in the deadly intrigues of Helmand's drug trafficking warlords. Click here to read the review in The New York Times or for more information on this title go to opiumseason.com.


Globe Fearon Co

OPIUM SEASON is the story of a young American working on the brutal fault line where the war on terror meets the war on drugs.  Joel Hafvenstein didn?t know what he was getting into when he signed up for a year in Afghanistan?s rugged Helmand province, the heart of the country's opium trade.  He was running an American-funded aid program with two goals: to help tens of thousands of opium poppy farmers make a legal living, and to win hearts and minds away from the former Taliban government.

The author and his friends were soon caught up in the deadly intrigues of Helmand'sdrug trafficking warlords.  He found himself dodging Taliban in poppy-filled mountain ravines and arguing with murderous, AK-47 toting bandits in police uniform.  He saw both the stark beauty and the terrible cruelty that Afghans live with every day.  At the height of his team?s success, the Taliban attacked, killing his colleagues and destroying their work.  These ambushes heralded a Taliban resurgence across the country; they also showed the weaknesses in America's strategy that continue to undermine every American accomplishment in Afghanistan.

This is a riveting story of intrigue, adventure, and tragedy at the far edge of the world.  In the tradition of The Places In Between and The Kite Runner, OPIUM SEASON describes the odyssey of an American chasing a seemingly impossible goal in the midst of chaos.  It will draw national attention from the media and from book readers hungry to understand this shattered, beautiful country and its deeply divided people.

A young American working on the brutal fault line where the war on terror meets the war on drugs. Joel Hafvenstein signed up for a year in Afghanistan in the heart of the country's opium trade, running an American-funded aid program to help thousands of opium poppy farmers make a legal living, and to win hearts and minds away from the former Taliban government. The author was soon caught up in the deadly intrigues of Helmand's drug trafficking warlords. Click here to read the review in The New York Times or for more information on this title go to opiumseason.com.


Book News
International development consultant Hafvenstein recounts his time in Helmand province, Afghanistan, from November 2004 to May 2005 working for a private company contracted to the US government. He periodizes his experience by the planting, flowering, and harvest of the opium poppies. Annotation ©2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Publisher: Guilford, Conn. : Lyons Press, c2007
Description: viii, 337 p. : map ; 24 cm
ISBN: 9781599211312
1599211319
Branch Call Number: 958.1047 Haf

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at BPL.

Try searching for Opium Season to see if BPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top