The Lewis Man

The Lewis Man

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
An unidentified corpse is recovered from a Lewis peat bog; the only clue to its identity being a DNA sibling match to a local farmer. But this islander, Tormod Macdonald - now an elderly man suffering from dementia - has always claimed to be an only child. When Tormod's family approach Fin Macleod for help, Fin feels duty-bound to solve the mystery.
Publisher: London : Quercus, 2012
Description: 373 p. ; 25 cm
ISBN: 9780857382207
Branch Call Number: May


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
sapl3 Apr 09, 2020


The Lewis Man, the second book in the Lewis Trilogy, has Fin living on the island, having resigned from the police force and set on fixing up his parents’ old croft while trying to repair the many relationships of his past. When a body, well-preserved and showing signs of multiple stab wounds, is found in a bog, it is first thought to be thousands of years old – until an Elvis tattoo is found on the arm and DNA links it to the father of Fin’s childhood sweetheart, Marsaili Macdonald. But Tormod Macdonald has always maintained that he was an only child. Why would he have lied and what answers will they be able to get now, as Tormod is elderly and suffering from dementia? No one can ever run away from their past – it eventually catches up with everyone.

Oct 28, 2019

A well researched, interesting mystery that involves the treatment of orphans in the northern part of Scotland in the 1950-60s.

Feb 23, 2019

The story shows that younger folk when they look at older folk especially those in care are completely ignorant of the lives that the elders have had. The old man in the story is Marsaili's father, now suffering from Alzheimer Disease, but who still has moments of clarity as he tells his life story in snatches ie alternating chapters - a fascinating, complicated story of his teen years that include living in an orphanage, bully gangs, a murder, but also first love. As the complicated story of the dad's life unfolds, May weaves in the continuing relationships of Fin, Marsaili, her son and his new partner and their baby. The story held my interest right to the end with its climax occurring on the last page!

Jun 28, 2017

Second of the Lewis trilogy.
The Blackhouse
The Lewis Man
The Chessmen

Jun 12, 2017

Really enjoyed this 2nd book in the series. It even surprised me which is hard to do as I read the ending first to make sure the main character doesn't die on the last page (a la Cold Mt.)

Have read many Peter May books and he delivers on almost every one!

May 18, 2016

I really enjoyed this one. Peter May can tell a very complicated story and keep one totally absorbed in the present-day characters whose lives continue to be so much impacted on as the past is revealed.Chilling. Spine-tingling.Awesome.

Apr 04, 2016

In this second book about Fin MacLeod, the action jumps around from "the mainland", to Lewis and Harris in the Hebrides. This time, the story revolves around Marsailis' father, Tormod Macdonald, and his past, which turns out to be quite a convoluted, violence-filled story, complete with a lost brother and lost love.
As in 'The Blackhouse', personal histories are turned upside down as the past is uncovered. Marsailis' mother can't deal with her dementia-riddled father any more and foists Tormod off onto her daughter. A body is found in a peat bog and DNA finds it closely matches Tormod's. Fin's quit the force, but has to solve the case before a mainland detective comes out to investigate the 50-year-old murder case of the man found in a peat bog on Lewis; if he doesn't, Marsailis' father is the number one suspect.
Once again, it's an unveiling of unsavory practices of the state and religious institutions in the past. They all connect in the present via a vengeful mobster, and everyone is involved: Fionnlagh, Donna, and their baby girl, Fin and Marsailis, Donald Murray, and Ceit, the mysterious woman from Tormod's past.

Feb 10, 2016

Peter May is a consumate story teller. Excellent character development and lyrical voice. I would like to hear these books read aloud in an appropriate accent!

Dec 23, 2015

Second of a very good detective series based on the Scottish Isle of Lewis. Read the first of the series, The Blackhouse.

coroboreefarm Jul 08, 2015

If you have read Ann Cleeves' Shetland series of mysteries, and enjoyed them for their settings in the wind whipped and wave tossed outer isles of Scotland, then this trilogy is a natural follow up for you to read. The first book in the series, "The Blackhouse" introduces Fin Macleod, Edinburgh detective and island native. The Lewis Man follows his return to the Isle of Lewis, where he becomes invested in solving the decades old murder of a tattooed young man whose body has been preserved in a bog. Historical and natural details, as depicted by Peter May, are accurate and compelling . This is a riveting read by an accomplished novelist and television dramatist.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top