Beluga

Beluga

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
"A few months ago in Ranchero, Rick Gavin's much-acclaimed Delta noir novel, Nick Reid and his compadre Desmond liberated some money from a nasty meth dealer, and now they need to launder it. After lending out a couple thousand dollars here and there, with hopes of getting a small return, all kinds of "investment opportunities" are coming out of the woodwork, and one of them has trouble written all over it. The brother of Desmond's ex-wife wants a small sum to set up a scheme involving a trailer full of stolen tires. Which sets off all kinds of alarm bells for Nick, but Shawnica insists that Nick and Desmond help her brother out. In the next few days, they're set upon by a ninja schoolgirl assassin and a couple of Delta gangsters, and soon all thoughts of recouping their investment go out the window. They'll settle for just staying alive. The twists and turns and the dry wit that made Ranchero a delight are all on full display once again in Beluga, Rick Gavin's latest. "--
Publisher: New York : Minotaur Books, 2012
Edition: 1st ed
Description: 298 p. ; 22 cm
ISBN: 9781250015228
1250015227
Branch Call Number: Gavi

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

emily8 Apr 14, 2013

about half as good as his debut - we'll see what the new girlfriend brings to the table in book #3... 1/2 recommend..

ChristchurchLib Jan 14, 2013

"In Ranchero, Nick Reid and his buddy, Desmond, came into a fair amount of money from a meth lord. Since then, they've been looking for investment opportunities, and they've allowed themselves to be talked into funding a former in-law's lame-brained scheme involving a trailer full of stolen tyres. This bad decision pits them against some hoodlums, a pair of Mississippi Delta gangsters, and a psychotic woman who likes to dress like a ninja schoolgirl. Smart dialogue, dimwitted characters, and a fair helping of humour keep this thriller moving, and will appeal to readers of Joe Lansdale's Hap Collins and Leonard Pine novels." January 2013 Thrillers & Suspense Newsletter http://www.nextreads.com/Display2.aspx?SID=5acc8fc1-4e91-4ebe-906d-f8fc5e82a8e0&N=590376

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top