The Guilty One

The Guilty One

Large Print - 2013
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
London solicitor Daniel Hunter finds his life changed when he meets an eleven-year-old boy accused of murdering an eight-year-old boy--a case that forces him to confront his own childhood and unearths memories he'd long buried.
Publisher: New York : Harperluxe, [2013]
Edition: First HarperLuxe edition, Large print edition
Description: 568 pages ; 23 cm
Copyright Date: ©2012
ISBN: 9780062222954
0062222953
Branch Call Number: LP Ball
Additional Contributors: Ballantyne, Lisa

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
kelliyfults
Oct 25, 2013

a tale different from same-old, same-old.... my sympathies wavered for the 'adult' Daniel; his childhood was given so much more detail- I didn't really grasp who he had grown up to become... perhaps 75 pages too long, but mostly a very good effort.

emily8 Sep 07, 2013

no one to cheer for - fact that there are many unlikable and worse people and types in the world - not recommended

(Staff) Elaine Bird Jul 13, 2013

Fascinating read ... poses interesting questions of who is guilty when children commit crimes and also relationships of children with their damaged parents. Couldn't put it down.

ChristchurchLib May 13, 2013

"Layered and complex, The Guilty One is a tale of two damaged boys: one is 11-year-old Sebastian, who's been charged with murdering a younger friend; the other, Daniel Hunter, survived a difficult childhood in foster care to become the London solicitor now defending Sebastian. The case unfolds alongside Daniel's own story (and that of the gentle older woman who eventually took him in for good). Questions of guilt and innocence pale beside a deeper exploration into the failings of the foster care and legal systems. A "searing debut," says Publishers Weekly, and one for fans of Tana French or Laura Lippman." May 2013 Thrillers and Suspense newsletter http://www.nextreads.com/Display2.aspx?SID=5acc8fc1-4e91-4ebe-906d-f8fc5e82a8e0&N=631593

f
FannieD
Jan 02, 2013

Thought Provoking. Enjoyed this book a lot.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top