A Good Death

A Good Death

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Hired by an insurance company to investigate the suspicious suicide of a talented Lao immigrant, down-on-his-luck Boston privete investigator Sebastian Damon finds the case leading him halfway around the world to the streets of Bangkok.

McMillan Palgrave

"A first rate mystery, beautifully crafted, fast-paced, and populated with the most vivid (and at times seamy) characters… A bravura debut!" --Douglas Preston, #1 bestselling co-author of the Pendergast series of novels

A nail-biting debut mystery that plunges readers into the seamy side streets of late-90s Bangkok and across the untamed mountains of the Lao-Vietnam border, hot on the heels of an alluring woman who's officially dead – unless she's masterminded a half-million-dollar life-insurance scam

An expertly crafted debut, A GOOD DEATH introduces Sebastian Damon, a sharp-witted though struggling Boston PI who catches an intriguing case. Linda Watts is a beautiful, talented Southeast Asian refugee with a promising career in finance—or she was, until she turned up dead, the victim of a heroin OD, in a cheap Bangkok guest house. Her death seemed straightforward to the Thai authorities, but her insurance company isn't buying it. They send Sebastian halfway around the world to investigate—where he finds himself confounded and completely out of place chasing faint leads through the broken, bewildering streets of Thailand's teeming capital.

An award-winning journalist with decades of experience traveling in and reporting on Southeast Asia, Christopher R. Cox takes readers on a vibrant journey through a corrupt police bureaucracy, a network of steamy Bangkok nightclubs and grimy hostels to a place where you can you feel the humid air and smell the stir-fried street food. Along the way, Sebastian finds romance as he falls for a captivatingly mysterious woman and camaraderie with his father's wise-cracking old Special Forces wingman -- an expat who can navigate Bangkok's chaotic underbelly and the wild mountains of Laos with equal aplomb. For Sebastian, it's the assignment of a lifetime, a chase that will lead him to a long-buried truth at the heart of all the dark lies, a quest that will change him forever in this richly imagined, compelling debut perfect for fans of John Burdett.



Baker
& Taylor

Hired by an insurance company to investigate the suspicious suicide of a talented Lao immigrant, down-on-his-luck Boston private investigator Sebastian Damon finds the case leading him halfway around the world to the streets of Bangkok, where he is pitted against police corruption and bureaucracy in life-changing ways. 15,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Minotaur Books, 2013
Edition: First edition
Description: 296 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN: 9781250012319
1250012317
Branch Call Number: CoxC

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at BPL.

Try searching for A Good Death to see if BPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top