The Testament of Jessie Lamb

The Testament of Jessie Lamb

eBook - 2011
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
Health Communications, Inc.
In a chilling future, one 16-year-old girl is driven to the ultimate act of heroism. The Testament of Jessie Lamb, longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, is the breakout novel from award-winning author Jane Rogers. Its cunningly drawn characters and riveting vision of a dystopic future fraught with difficult moral choices will make The Testament of Jessie Lamb an instant favorite for fans of Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go, Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games, and Brian K. Vaughan’s Y: The Last Man.

“The novel does not set up an elaborate apocalypse, but astringently strips away the smears hiding the apocalypses we really face. Like Jessie’s, it is a small, calm voice of reason in a nonsensical world.” —The Independent

Baker & Taylor
When a virus that kills pregnant women is unleashed on the unsuspecting world, endangering the human race, Jessie Lamb, an ordinary 16-year-old, begins to question everything around her, which drives her towards an ultimate test of heroism. Original. 25,000 first printing.

HARPERCOLL
In a chilling future, one 16-year-old girl is driven to the ultimate act of heroism.The Testament of Jessie Lamb, longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, is the breakout novel from award-winning author Jane Rogers. Its cunningly drawn characters and riveting vision of a dystopic future fraught with difficult moral choices will makeThe Testament of Jessie Lamb an instant favorite for fans of Kazuo Ishiguro’sNever Let Me Go, Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, Suzanne Collins’sThe Hunger Games, and Brian K. Vaughan’s Y: The Last Man.

“The novel does not set up an elaborate apocalypse, but astringently strips away the smears hiding the apocalypses we really face. Like Jessie’s, it is a small, calm voice of reason in a nonsensical world.” —The Independent



Publisher: Dingwall, Scotland : Sandstone Press, 2011
Description: 1 online resource
ISBN: 9780062130815
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lostintheshelves
May 02, 2017

This is one of the most brilliant sf novels I've read. It uses a sci-fi backdrop--a plague that has made pregnancy fatal for both mother and child--to explore the right to self-determination, reproductive rights, suicide, martyrdom, and the ways women are taught to sacrifice themselves for others. Jessie is a shockingly realistic teen, who cares deeply about the world and longs to find meaning for her life, but also oversimplifies and is led astray by her natural teen desires for rebellion. She's both lovable and annoying, and an incredibly compelling unreliable narrator, who believes utterly in her choices even as the reader realizes that her sacrifice is unwise and unnecessary for humanity's survival. Rogers asks us to think deeply about our values: are we willing to let young women make their own choices, even when they're wrong? It belongs on the shelf with Sarah Hall's Daughters of the North, Charlotte Wood's The Natural Way of Things, and other modern classics of feminist sf.

w
WordaholicEdmonton
Feb 25, 2015

I really enjoyed this read. The character was well voiced, albeit a 16 year old, who of course, is lacking some of the depth of character adult readers expect in a novel. There is a reason and a question to that. When our society is facing a crisis, what do the young do? Why do they make the choices they do, when the lens of 'normal' is out of focus? I found it very interesting on a lot of levels. It was also very well structured and written.

u
uncommonreader
Aug 03, 2013

Although this novel was long-listed for the Man Booker Prize and won the Arthur C. Clark prize, I did not find it convincing. Set in the near future, when the continuation of the human race is threatened by a virus killing all pregnant women, it is about the heroism of a 16 year old girl who believes that one must take action and about the impact of her decision on her parents and friends. There are a number of inconsistencies, the motivation of some characters is difficult to understand, and overall the character of Jessie was not engaging.

s
StephenB
May 03, 2012

Just named winner of the British Arthur C. Clarke Award. Not typical sf at all; consistently, intelligently and relentlessly told from the point of view of the very young woman protagonist, whose characterization rang true to me (a middle aged male reader.) I found the book a little difficult to read, but compelling; easy to put down, but I always picked it back up. Probably more a woman's book.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top